Daventry Parkrun No. 98

I certainly benefitted from the fresher conditions today. I felt I ran a consistent race with split times for each mile fairly even. Only seven seconds separated me from a new comeback pb.

As I’ve already mentioned, I have supplemented my five runs a week with 2 sessions on the bike. I feel better for the extra training but don’t welcome the idea of being out on the bike in colder weather, so I’ve decided to hit the gym over the winter months.

It can be hard to get out the door and run sometimes – especially in January which feels like a longer month, so having the option to train indoors seems a good idea. It also gives the opportunity to work on strength as well as cardiovascular fitness.

I prefer running/training off-road, so wetter, muddier conditions makes the task of speed work such as intervals much more difficult. Again, gym usage will make this more possible. I also want to see if improved conditioning from the strength training results in faster parkrun times. I do some strength exercises at home but this shouldn’t compare to what you can do in a gym.

My time for this parkrun was 24.03. No parkrun next Saturday as I’m on football duties, but the week after, I’m hoping to pay a long overdue visit to Northampton Parkrun. The course brings back memories as I often trained there when I lived in the town.

Happy running

Matt

This entry was posted in Fitness, Intervals, pb, Running, Training, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

