My Training Week

Thought it would be a good idea to post my training on a typical week. I’m also interested in what you do? I speak to other runners all the time at parkrun events, and it’s nice to hear how they train; occasionally, I incorporate some of their ideas in to what I do.

Sunday: Long run (usually 50–70 minutes).

Monday: Rest or alternative training (could be cycling, strength exercises or stretching). I’ve just started a 2-week training plan which allows me to run every other Monday, if I wish. Not usually more than 30 minutes at steady/ brisk pace.

Tuesday: Short Intervals (usually 8 by 30 seconds with 30 seconds recovery). With warm up/ warm down, this session usually lasts between 30-40 minutes. I really like this one.

Wednesday: Steady run (up to about 40 minutes).

Thursday: Intervals (I vary this session. Intervals anything between 30 seconds and a minute and a half). The number of intervals is based on how long they are. So for a minute and a half, I might only do four. With warm up/ warm down, this session lasts up to 40 minutes.

Friday: Rest. Might do some stretching. I will sometimes train if I can’t run Saturday because of other commitments.

Saturday: Parkrun (if possible). I do not run at race-pace every week. Some weeks I will run easy or start easy before building up speed.

There has to be a degree of flexibility with every training plan. I don’t get too stressed if I can’t train as intended. It could be on a Tuesday that I feel tired, so I do a steady run instead and put the intervals back till Wednesday.

What I think is important though is consistency over a given period. You know how it feels when training has been going well for a couple of months. Physically you’re in a better shape to run well and mentally I think also: consistent training breeds confidence.

Happy Running

Matt

This entry was posted in Fitness, Health, Running, Sport, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Training Week

  1. I normally run Mondays, Wednesdays and Saturdays and Sundays.
    Mondays and Wednesdays are mostly treadmill sessions, because I am away from home, and I typically do 7-9 kilometres in 70 minutes – I arrive at that duration by running for an hour, with a 5 minute warm up and cool down.
    Saturdays, I try and do parkrun.
    Sundays is another long run of between 60 to 90 minutes.
    This was my routine, when running on my own without any specific objective.
    As you may have seen from my own blog, I have just started a Half Marathon training plan, to get ready for October, and this time I am going for scientific rigour. So Thresholds, Hill Runs and Long Slow Distance runs in 3 runs a week, I may have to eschew parkruns for the foreseeable future. Will be interesting to see the effect on my parkrun speeds, when I do come back in a few months time,

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

